• Neurology
    • Director of Neurology Department and Head of Stroke Unit at Monash Health

    Dr. Henry Ma is the Director of Neurology Department and Head of Stroke Unit at Monash Health, Melbourne. He is an adjunct Associate Professor at the department of medicine, Monash University. He completed his PhD at the University of Melbourne which studied the ischemic penumbra in acute ischemic stroke.

    He is the principle coordinator of the EXTEND trial. He serves as steering committee member of a number of international clinical trials mainly focused on acute stroke therapy.

    He is one of the chief investigators in the I-ACT trial which is a phase one study on the use of amniotic epithelial stem cells in acute ischemic stroke patients. I-ACT has received funding from the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia. 

    His research interest is in large clinical trials, advanced neuroimaging, and geospatial research. At Monash Health A/Prof Ma and his team have published on the geospatial modelling on thrombectomy service and mobile stroke unit service in state of Victoria in Australia. 

    He is the co-chair of the Australasia Stroke Trial Network and the President of the Australasia Stroke Academy. He is also the council member of the Asia Pacific Stroke Organization.

    • Neurology

    Mark Parsons is an internationally recognised leader in Stroke Medicine and Neurology. He holds the Royal Melbourne Hospital Professorial Chair of Neurology, Melbourne Medical School, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, University of Melbourne, and is the Director of the Department of Neurology, Royal Melbourne Hospital. He is an Honorary Professor at Fudan University, Shanghai and Conjoint Professor of Neurology at University of Newcastle, Australia.

    Prof Parsons is the immediate past president of the Stroke Society of Australasia and has chaired the Australasian Stroke Trials Network. He has recently been elected to the Australian and New Zealand Association of Neurologists (ANZAN) Council. He has served on steering committees for >10 major stroke clinical trials, including leadership of the pioneering phase II and phase III clinical trials of tenecteplase. Previously he has been the Director, Priority Research Centre for Stroke and Traumatic Brain Injury, University of Newcastle; Hunter Medical Research Institute Board Member; Professor of Medicine (Neurology), Faculty of Health and Medicine, University of Newcastle; and Director, Acute Stroke Service, John Hunter Hospital, Newcastle.

    Prof Parsons’ work using magnetic resonance and CT imaging techniques to study stroke pathophysiology and new therapeutic approaches, and translate them into clinical practice is internationally recognised. He is the Winner, NSW Health Awards, Translational Research Category: Transforming Acute Stroke Care Locally and Globally (2015); the Hunter Medical Research Institute Director’s Award for Mid-Career Research (2014); the University of Newcastle Alumni Medal Winner for outstanding achievement (2012). This is the major annual award for Alumni of the University of Newcastle. He was awarded the Faculty of Health Award for Researcher of the Year in 2011; and the ANZAN Leonard Cox Award in 2008. This is awarded for significant contributions to neuroscience research in the 10 years since becoming a neurologist.

  • Prof Bruce Campbell is a consultant neurologist and Head of Stroke, Royal Melbourne Hospital. He is a professorial fellow in the Melbourne Brain Centre @ RMH, Department of Medicine, University of Melbourne. His research interests are focused on the imaging and treatment of acute stroke and he was co-principal investigator and medical co-ordinator of the EXTEND-IA and EXTEND-IA TNK multi-centre randomised trials published in the New England Journal of Medicine in 2015 and 2018. He is Chair of Clinical Council and a director of the Stroke Foundation (Australia) and co-chairs the Australian stroke guidelines working party. He has been an inaugural member of the Victorian stroke telemedicine project, chairs the Victorian Statewide Stroke Reperfusion Therapy Committee and is the co-ordinator of the National Brainschool training program for Australian and New Zealand neurologists in training.

Powered by Medstro