• Internal Medicine
    • Neurology
    • Fmr. Member of the Board of Directors of the American Society of Experimental Neurotherapeutics, Founding Member of the Alzheimer's Association Research Roundtable, & Senior Medical Director of the Alzheimer’s Disease Global Development Team at Eli Lilly & Co

    Eric Siemers, M.D. has performed clinical research in neurodegenerative disease for over 25 years. He earned his MD with highest distinction from the Indiana University School of Medicine in 1982. After an internship in the Department of Internal Medicine at the Indiana University School of Medicine, he completed his residency in the Department of Neurology in 1986. At Indiana University, he founded and headed the Indiana University Movement Disorder Clinic; his research there included investigations of Parkinson’s disease and Huntington’s disease, and he established one of the first centers for surgical PD treatments in the US. In 1998, Dr. Siemers joined Eli Lilly and Company and rose to the rank of Distinguished Medical Fellow. While at Lilly, he first performed studies of investigational medications for Alzheimer’s disease in early phase clinical trials, and subsequently joined the late phase Alzheimer’s Disease Global Development Team. In this capacity Dr. Siemers was responsible for the design and implementation of 5 large phase 3 studies of AD sponsored by Lilly, in addition to playing a major collaborative role in 2 public-private partnerships. Major research interests include the use of biomarkers in investigational drug research, the development of trial designs that fully characterize the effects of investigational drugs on chronic diseases, and more specifically the development of strategies for treating individuals before the onset of symptoms of neurodegenerative diseases. Dr. Siemers is a past member of the Board of Directors of the American Society of Experimental Neurotherapeutics. He was a founding member of the Alzheimer’s Association Research Roundtable and is the immediate-past Chair. He has served as a member of the Steering Committee for the Alzheimer’s Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI), which is funded by the National Institute on Aging and a consortium of pharmaceutical companies. He served as the chair of the Industry Scientific Advisory Board for ADNI in 2007 and previously served as a member of the Resource Allocation Request Committee. Dr. Siemers participated as a member of the NIA/Alzheimer’s Association working group that proposed criteria for preclinical Alzheimer’s disease in 2011; he is a member of the current working group that will evaluate biomarkers and clinical symptoms in the nomenclature used for research of the entire Alzheimer’s disease continuum.

  • Dr. Honig is a Professor of Neurology at Columbia University Medical Center. He is a clinical neurologist and neuroscientist, with subspecialization in degenerative brain conditions including Alzheimer’s, Lewy Body, Frontotemporal, Progressive Supranuclear Palsy, and Creutzfeldt-Jakob diseases, and in the immune-mediated encephalitides. His activities include clinical drug trial research, observational disease research, clinical neurological care, and translational investigations on molecular biomarkers of aging and dementia. He holds appointments in the Department of Neurology, the Gertrude H. Sergievsky Center, and the Taub Institute for Research on Alzheimer’s Disease and the Aging Brain, at Columbia University, where he is a Director of the New York State Center of Excellence for Alzheimer’s Disease, and Deputy Director, Clinical and Satellite Core Leader of the Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center. He received his undergraduate A.B. degree from Cornell University College of Arts and Sciences, his Ph.D. doctoral degree in Molecular Biology at the University of California at Berkeley, and his M.D. medical doctoral degree at the University of Miami (Florida). He trained in Internal Medicine and Neurology at Stanford University Medical Center (California), and held faculty appointments at Stanford University School of Medicine, and the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, prior to his move to Columbia University in New York City in the year 2000. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Neurology, and Member of the American Neurological Association, Movement Disorder Society, and Society for Neuroscience.

Powered by Medstro