• Internal Medicine
    • Medical Education
    • General Internal Medicine
    Senior Associate Dean for education at Washington university in St Louis
    Senior Associate Dean for education at Washington university in St Louis

    Eva Aagaard, MD, FACP is Professor of Medicine and Senior Associate Dean for Education at Washington University School of Medicine. In these roles, she oversees medical education across the continuum including undergraduate (UME), graduate (GME) and continuing medical education. At University of Colorado School of Medicine, she developed and served as Founding Director of their internationally recognized Academy of Medical Educators. Nationally she led development of the Society of General Internal Medicine TEACH Program. Internationally she developed the Health Education Advanced Leadership Program in Zimbabwe (HEALZ). Dr. Aagaard is a member of the American Board of Internal Medicine Specialty Board, Council Member for the Society of General Internal Medicine, and past co-chair of the National Board of Medical Examiners Ambulatory Care Test Development Committee and several item review committees. She served as a core member of the Milestones in Internal Medicine Committee. Her areas of interest include curriculum reform, competency-based education and assessment and teaching across the continuum of health professions education from UME through practicing provider. She has won more than 15 awards for clinical excellence, teaching, and humanism in medicine, including the University of Colorado’s President’s Teaching Award, the Society of General Internal Medicine Mid-Career Mentoring Award, and the Elizabeth Gee Award for the Advancement of Women at the University of Colorado.  

    • Otolaryngology
    • Graduate Medical Education
    • Laryngology
    Professor of Otolaryngology and Vice Chair of Faculty Affairs and Diversity Department of Otolaryngology/Head and NEck Surgery at University of Colorado, ACGME Board of Directors Member
    Professor of Otolaryngology and Vice Chair of Faculty Affairs and Diversity Department of Otolaryngology/Head and NEck Surgery...

    Dr. Mona M. Abaza is a Professor and Vice Chair of Faculty Affairs and 

    Diversity for the Department of Otolaryngology at the University of Colorado, School of 

    Medicine. A board certified and Laryngology fellowship trained Otolaryngologist, she 

    received her medical degree from The Women’s Medical College of Pennsylvania (now 

    Drexel University). She completed her Otolaryngology residency at the University of 

    Texas Health Sciences Center in San Antonio and then completed her Laryngology 

    fellowship at Graduate Hospital and Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, PA. She 

    maintains active interest in professional voice research as a peer-elected member of the 

    International Association of Phonosurgeons, the American Bronch-esophagology 

    Association, the Triological Society and the American Laryngological Association. She 

    is very active in medical education, completing a Master of Science in Higher Education 

    at Drexel University School of Education in 2010. She is a member of the University of 

    Colorado School of Medicine’s Academy of Medical Educators and runs its Teaching 

    Certificate Program. She held the position of Associate Residency Program 

    Director/Program Director for Otolaryngology for over 18 years, stepping down in 2018 

    to take the Vice Chair position. She is the Past Chair of the Otolaryngology Program 

    Director Organization (OPDO) and a second term Administrative Board member for the 

    Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (CFAS) of the American Association of 

    Medical Colleges (AAMC), where she chairs the Faculty Resilience Working Group. She 

    also passionately works to improve women’s leadership development in her specialty and 

    academic medicine as a whole. She was a founding member of the governing council of 

    the women’s section of her national academy, past-chair of the section and co-founder

    and director of a yearlong leadership development program for it, as well as an active 

    faculty in University of Colorado’s Junior Women Faculty Development Program.

Powered by Medstro